Mid-Life Crisis – Nelson Mongiovi

The Poetry Jar

 
 
Half a century old, I feel like
a starfish stranded on the shore
reaching for water
in five different directions.
 
A new shade of night
has descended upon me;
the weight of my choices
drips from my eyes.
 
Ruin has become a habit
impossible to break.
Only my shadow welcomes me
in the dim light.
 
My lucid moments
are no longer frequent
or as good
as the psychotic.
 
I hate this life
so deeply,
almost as deeply
as I love it.
 
 
©2013 All rights belong with the Author.

View original post

Leave a Reply

